Dating in the federal government

The seat of the federal government is in the federal district of Washington, D. The United States Congress is the legislative branch of the federal government.It is bicameral, comprising the House of Representatives and the Senate.Congressional oversight is intended to prevent waste and fraud, protect civil liberties and individual rights, ensure executive compliance with the law, gather information for making laws and educating the public, and evaluate executive the Electoral College, for which each state, as well as the District of Columbia, is allocated a number of seats based on its representation (or ostensible representation, in the case of D. The Executive branch consists of the President and delegates.The House of Representatives consists of 435 voting members, each of whom represents a congressional district and serves for a two-year term.In addition to the 435 voting members there are five non-voting members, consisting of four delegates and one resident commissioner.The President makes around 2,000 executive appointments, including members of the Cabinet and ambassadors, which must be approved by the Senate; the President can also issue executive orders and pardons, and has other Constitutional duties, among them the requirement to give a State of the Union Address to Congress from time to time (usually once a year).(The Constitution does not specify that the State of the Union address be delivered in person; it can be in the form of a letter, as was the practice during most of the 19th century.) Although the President's constitutional role may appear to be constrained, in practice, the office carries enormous prestige that typically eclipses the power of Congress.

In addition, the powers of the federal government as a whole are limited by the Constitution, which, per the Tenth Amendment, states that all powers not expressly assigned to the federal government are reserved to the states or to the people.

The President may, with the consent of two-thirds of the Senate, make treaties with foreign nations. Their only other constitutional duty is to serve as President of the Senate and break any tie votes in the Senate.

The President may be impeached by a majority in the House and removed from office by a two-thirds majority in the Senate for "treason, bribery, or other high crimes and misdemeanors." The President may not dissolve Congress or call special elections, but does have the power to pardon, or release, criminals convicted of offenses against the federal government (except in cases of impeachment), enact executive orders, and (with the consent of the Senate) appoint Supreme Court justices and federal judges. presidential line of succession, the Vice President becomes President upon the death, resignation, or removal of the President, which has happened nine times in U. The relationship between the President and the Congress reflects that between the English monarchy and parliament at the time of the framing of the United States Constitution.

The Vice President is first in the line of succession, and is the President of the Senate ex officio, with the ability to cast a tie-breaking vote.

The members of the President's Cabinet are responsible for administering the various departments of state, including the Department of Defense, the Justice Department, and the State Department.

dating in the federal government-58dating in the federal government-73dating in the federal government-46

Join our conversation (1 Comments).
Click Here To Leave Your Comment Dating in the federal government.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *